Sign in with your Gary Public Library card and pin# if prompted.
Business & Legal
Career Preparation - Job search and career practice exams.
Gale LegalForms - Need a legal form? Sample Letter? Legal definition? This resource provides FREE access thousands of downloadable national and state-specific legal forms, sample letters, legal definitions, legal questions and answers, and a law digest, available 24/7 at your convenience. Find everything from wills, estates, or divorce to power of attorney, landlord-tenant, and incorpation.
Kids
School Center - Math and reading comprehension skills improvement.
NEW!
The same ABCmouse.com now available at home. Sign up with your Gary Public Library card and PIN # today!
ABCmouse.com: With 5,000+ interactive books, educational games, puzzles, and other learning activities, ABCmouse.com's award-winning online curriculum is an invaluable resource for young learners (ages 2-7+). From Age of Learning, Inc.
NEW!
iVOX is our new children’s app based upon our popular VOX Books, which delights and engages curious young minds with immersive storytelling technology. (You will need your library card and pin#)
https://ivox.libraryideas.com
or Download the app from the Apple App Store or the Android MarketPlace.Open the app and follow the prompts.
Enjoy!
A personalized learning resource for all ages. Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps. We've also partnered with institutions like NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT to offer specialized content.
TumbleBookLibrary is a collection of animated, talking picture books for elementary age students.
TumbleMath is the most comprehensive collection of math picture books you will find anywhere. All in the amazing TumbleBook format complete with animation and narration.
Early World of Learning is the premier online resource for preschoolers and children in the early elementary grades. Developed with experts on early childhood education, Early World of Learning offers a rich interactive encyclopedia, Read A Loud Books in English and in Spanish, Print and Do Activities, a wide variety of videos and easily navigable games that reinforce reading comprehension.
World Book Kids is the premier online resource developed especially for elementary students. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.
World Book eBook collection includes over 2,000 highly illustrated, engaging titles that support a span of genres and reading levels with unlimited access and checkouts. Each reader can customize his or her reading experience with notes, highlights, drawings, and bookmarks that are automatically saved when a user logs in to their personal ebooks account. Download the free World Book eBook app and take your eBooks with you.
Teens
High School Equivalency Center - Getting ready for your state's high school equivalency test? Learn how the resources here can help you prepare.
Middle School Center - Middle School skills improvement. Featuring: Math, reading & writing, social studies, vocabulary and spelling, and entrance exams.
High School Center - High School skills improvement. Featuring: Statistics, advanced math, reading & writing, social studies, science, vocabulary and spelling, and technology.
Test and Résumé Preparation. ACT, SAT, ASVAB and MORE.
A personalized learning resource for all ages. Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps. We've also partnered with institutions like NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT to offer specialized content.
TeenBookCloud is an online collection of over 600 titles for grades 7th through 12th. It features read-alongs, graphic novels, videos and more!
Tailored for students in middle school, World Book Student includes all the articles from the print versions of the World Book Encyclopedia plus 10,000 biographies, learning resources, and research tools. World Book Student is optimized for tablets for the ultimate mobile research experience.
World Book Advanced is a high school level reference tool that includes full encyclopedic and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links, back in time articles, special reports and world newspapers.
World Book eBook collection includes over 2,000 highly illustrated, engaging titles that support a span of genres and reading levels with unlimited access and checkouts. Each reader can customize his or her reading experience with notes, highlights, drawings, and bookmarks that are automatically saved when a user logs in to their personal ebooks account. Download the free World Book eBook app and take your eBooks with you.
Federal Government
U.S. Government Printing Office
Use GPO Access to search or browse official, full-text information from the three branches of the Federal Government. Databases are updated based on their print equivalent and generally date back to 1994.
Genealogy & History
(only available at Gary Public Library locations) Search essential historical records for African Americans, including Federal Census, Marriage and Cohabitation Records, Military Draft and Service Records, Registers of Slaves and Free(d) Persons of Color, Freedman's Bank, and more.
(only available at Gary Public Library locations) Family name information. Over a billion names in more than 4,600 unique databases.
Provides a core of primary source documents for the study of Indiana history, packaged with an engaging user interface that provides students and researchers multiple ways of accessing the content. With state and regional histories, travel guides, biographies, speeches and more, the collection provides a range of primary documents.
Health
NEW!
www.PhlebotomyTraining.org
Phlebotomy is a rewarding area of
healthcare that is perfect for those
looking for entry-level medical
careers. Find out more about
phlebotomy training programs,
certification, salaries, and more!
https://www.medicareplans.com/indiana/
https://www.medicareplans.com/medicare
-advantage-plans-indiana/
NEW!
Your Guide to a Better Retirement and
Medicare - This free resource highlights
coverage, costs, eligibility, and enrollment
information, along with answers to some
frequently asked questions.
Inspire/ Practice Tests, Study Guides & More
NEW! Learning Express - Tests, tutorials, e-books and more! For Kids, Teens and Adult students!
Language & Literature
Enjoy ebooks and audiobooks for free with your library card. Search here or download the apps.
Leisure
Offers access to millions of songs from thousands of labels including the labels of Sony Music Entertainment. There is no software to download. There is a weekly limit of 5 downloads (each video counts as 2 downloads). The site is set up to browse or search for your favorite music or artist. DOWNLOAD THE APP!
Easy-to-use digital magazine newsstand. Sign in with your Gary Public Library card if prompted. DOWNLOAD THE APP!
Instantly borrow digital movies, music, eBooks and more, 24/7 with your library card.
News & Politics
Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Local archived newspapers include the POST-TRIBUNE and a variety of Indiana newspapers. Also available, USA TODAY. View and print staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate, and other sections.
Find information on global issues and events, education, health, government and more including newspapers, videos and web-only content featuring the Chicago Sun-Times, Post Tribune, USA Today, international sources and more.
Reference
Everything you need to prepare to take your Indiana driving test. Contains FAQs and practice tests for cars, motorcycles, and CDL. Resources also available in Spanish!
Print material delivered in a digital format! Easily cross-search more than a hundred reference titles and encyclopedias with content in subjects such as history, business, medicine and health, multicultural studies and more.
INSPIRE is Indiana's Virtual Library on the Internet. INSPIRE is a collection of commercial databases and other information resources that can be accessed by Indiana residents. Please see INSPIRE website for more information on access from home computers.
World Book Online goes beyond encyclopedia articles with access to multimedia features, related content, comprehension questions and multiple additional sources built in. For Kids, Teens and Adults!
Language & Literature
Enjoy ebooks and audiobooks for free with your library card. Search here or download the apps.
Leisure
Offers access to millions of songs from thousands of labels including the labels of Sony Music Entertainment. There is no software to download. There is a weekly limit of 5 downloads (each video counts as 2 downloads). The site is set up to browse or search for your favorite music or artist. DOWNLOAD THE APP!
Easy-to-use digital magazine newsstand. Sign in with your Gary Public Library card if prompted. DOWNLOAD THE APP!
Instantly borrow digital movies, music, eBooks and more, 24/7 with your library card.
News & Politics
Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Local archived newspapers include the POST-TRIBUNE and a variety of Indiana newspapers. Also available, USA TODAY. View and print staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate, and other sections.
Find information on global issues and events, education, health, government and more including newspapers, videos and web-only content featuring the Chicago Sun-Times, Post Tribune, USA Today, international sources and more.
Reference
Everything you need to prepare to take your Indiana driving test. Contains FAQs and practice tests for cars, motorcycles, and CDL. Resources also available in Spanish!
Print material delivered in a digital format! Easily cross-search more than a hundred reference titles and encyclopedias with content in subjects such as history, business, medicine and health, multicultural studies and more.
INSPIRE is Indiana's Virtual Library on the Internet. INSPIRE is a collection of commercial databases and other information resources that can be accessed by Indiana residents. Please see INSPIRE website for more information on access from home computers.
World Book Online goes beyond encyclopedia articles with access to multimedia features, related content, comprehension questions and multiple additional sources built in. For Kids, Teens and Adults!